Why I’m Not Happy I Voted Today

By: Johnetta Anderson

It is voting season! Bernie Sanders and Hillary Clinton have the Black community in an uproar, and Donald Trump has become the Klu Klux Klan’s man of the year! Willie Wilson is somewhere talking and Chicago is pushing Anita Alvarez out of the city. Every voting season there’s the same kind of rhetoric “If you don’t vote, you can’t complain” (Y’all can’t tell me what I can and can’t do, bruh).

Today, on a beautiful Thursday afternoon, I decided to participate in the early voting process. I was not proud about it at all. I wasn’t thinking about the Civil Rights Movement, I was thinking about today. How we’ll always have to struggle no matter who is in office. There will always be a Black woman struggling. Black men will continue to be discriminated against if their hair is too nappy, or too wild, or too Black. I felt defeated at the ballot. I’m tired of voting for the “less of evils,” I don’t like evil. I don’t like the way minorities are treated. The only way real change can happen is if the system is torn down and rebuilt. We live in a country where sexism, racism, agism, classism, and other “isms” are embedded in the system. It doesn’t matter if Jesus himself steps into the office to be President, he would still have to bomb people, kill poor children, oppress people of color, and steal.

So, yes I voted today. I participated in perpetuating my own oppression and the oppression of the people I love. But I knew that not voting only makes things worse. We’re in a terrible place. Not voting won’t stop the voting process from happening. Not voting only means there’s a greater chance of putting people in office who will do more harm to us. I don’t know if I would ever want to encourage people to vote or not to vote. I do know that I voted today, and I’m not proud of it.

3 thoughts on “Why I’m Not Happy I Voted Today

  1. I appreciate the truth in this post. It is frustrating and infuriating trying to play tag and figure which candidate will dog you and your people the least, because you know in the end it will always end up hurting us…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

