Green Light for Amiri Baraka

By:  Jasmine J. Bundy

 

My Enemy, My ally

Woe, to my naïve country that has me unsure of my naïve origins

My Paradise

My War Zone

Woe, to Assata’s pleading voice for justice

Woe to Amiri Baraka’s deafening truths dwindling upon functioning, hard of hearing ears

Woe to seeing the pain, the pleasures

Woe to the Atlantic Ocean

For I, long for her to be calm as the Pacific,

But she is bitterly angry and cold

She bears the burden of being the only living witness to the Trade, but has not testified

Prisoners of Amerika

With our permission

It’s our Paradise and it’s our War Zone

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

