Ain’t I a Student?

By: Keyontai Redding

In honor of the college students who are suffering due to the budget crisis and in respect to abolitionist Sojourner Truth’s “Ain’t I a Woman”

Well students, where there is so much racket, there must be something awry!

I think between the students of Chicago State and the students of Governor’s State, all talking about student rights..the white man will be in a fix pretty soon!

Whats this I hear?

That man over there said that a student should have an education because an education is our passport to the future, for tomorrow belongs to the people who prepare for it today!

I woke up and packed my book bag.  I have all the books I need for each class, and I remembered to grab my ten-page paper off the printer that’s due today. And in my hand I carry that passport so

Ain’t I  a student?

Look at me! Look at my hands! In these hands I hold my pens, my notes in my notebook, my high school diploma, my associate’s degree, and I’m preparing for my bachelor’s degree,

so Ain’t I a student?

I have paid for my education with grants, and loans, and some money out of my pocket

so Ain’t I a student?

I have been getting a education (good or bad) for going on 19 years…

so Ain’t I a student?

Then they talking about this thing in the head…what they call it??

Intellect!

Well let me tell you what that’s got to do with student rights or black rights!

I know that the word “ain’t” can’t be used in my ten-page papers, or on my graduation application or in my cover letter or on my resume! Why?  Because it’s not Standard American English but African American Vernacular English, so it’s not only a  student right but a black right to use it right now!

Intellect taught me that…so Ain’t I a Student?

Intellect also taught me that some people don’t want my black behind to get a education and that’s part of the reason why they want to close my predominantly black school , but if a black student need to complete two more levels of education to have the same probability of getting a job as their white peers, then wouldn’t it be mean not to let me get my little two more levels of education?

Because, Ain’t I a Student?

Then that man in the back wearing black  said a student should have a education because education is the most powerful weapon you can use to change the world.

The first black educated men and women was strong enough to turn the world  Upside Down..ALL ALONE, Well us students here together ought to be able to turn it back and get it right side up AGAIN..and  WE asking to do it!

But “THE MAN” won’t let US!

Leave a Reply

